My Nabokov Moment – Butterflies

“I confess I do not believe in time. I like to fold my magic carpet, after use, in such a way as to superimpose one part of the pattern upon another. Let visitors trip. And the highest enjoyment of timelessness-in a landscape selected at random – is when I stand among rare butterflies and their food plants. This is ecstasy, and behind the ecstasy is something else, which is hard to explain. It is like a momentary vacuum into which rushes all that I love. A sense of oneness with sun and stone. A thrill of gratitude to whom it may concern-to the contrapuntal genius of human fate or to tender ghosts humoring a lucky mortal.”

Vladimir Nabokov – Speak, Memory

And a reminder that, as someone who has spent 0ver 10 years reading Russian literature, it is about time I read some Nabokov!

DSCF6957

Buddleia
Buddleia

DSCF6883 DSCF6888

Er... not the faint-hearted.
Er… not the faint-hearted.

DSCF6897 DSCF6905 DSCF6915

Just hangin'
Just hangin’

DSCF6921 DSCF6937 DSCF6943 DSCF6965 DSCF6966 DSCF6968 DSCF7004

Leave a Reply

